Skip to content

Say it like you mean it!

by on November 21, 2012

There is some wisdom in “fake it till you make it.” Would you join me in providing proof this Thanksgiving?

John Wesley, the father of methodism, struggled in his early years to find assurance of salvation. His worked harder than most at the spiritual disciplines hoping to find peace with God, yet it seemed.to laude him at everry turn. Finally, after seeing a band of Moravianswas and being deeply impressed with their assurance, he asked. Them how he might find the same.

“Preach it till you have it,” they told him, “then you will preach it because you have it.”  Fake it till you make it. Or, if this sounds better, sometimes our feelings follow our actions rather than the other way around.

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving. I hope yours is wonderful. However, most of us are in for some level of disappointment. We too often cook up grand ideas of how this year everything will be better than it ever has been.

This year, tomorrow, I invite you to join me in an effort to put expectations where they belong: on myself. Tomorrow I expect ME to speak gratitude. I will recognize and voice what I am thankful for, no matter what happens for which I am not thankful.

If I don’t feel grateful first thing out of bed, I will by the end of the day, because my feelings will follow my words.

Are you with me?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,143 other followers

