Skip to content

Is Your Church as Good as a Dollar Store?

by on January 3, 2013

I made a quick stop in a Family Dollar store on my way to work this morning. I have had a hard time finding things in dollar stores in the past, so I asked the first employee I saw for help.

She told me they didn’t have what I was looking for, but that I should try the Dollar General across the street. For a second I thought I was on Miracle on 34th Street.  I thanked her and moved on.

Sure enough, the Dollar General had what I was looking for (maybe Bono should try there). I told the clerk at Dollar General who helped me find it the story of Family Dollar referring me over there.  She replied that they do this for each other.

I walked to my car thinking what a good business practice that was; that I would gladly stop at either of these stores again.  I might, in fact, pass up some other store to bring my business to one of these.

Then God, I believe, invited me to consider the implications for my own line of work.

Would I be willing to recommend another church to someone who couldn’t find what they were looking for at mine?

Would you?

4 Comments
  1. Jay Clark permalink

    Thanks Steve! I have said this for years- we can’t be afraid to “send them to Gimbels.” Happy New Year!

  2. The thing I worry about, Jay, if I send someone away, is it because I believe they can find what they need (want) at another church and not because (for whatever reason) I’d rather not deal with them as part of my congregation?

  3. I tried to tell and demonstrate to my people by words & actions that I thought we were on the same team as the other churches in town. Can’t do that when you’re ruled by fear about survival, however.

  4. Reblogged this on Desperate Pursuit of God and commented:
    Good thoughts here! I wonder if we would do the same. Do we even know what other churches offer, or are we stuck in our own bubble, concerned about only what we are doing? Or, do we recognize God moving, even if it is not at our particular church or service?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,122 other followers

