Evolution?

ImageI choose the above title partly because I will soon review a book titled “Evolution’s Purpose.”  For now, though, let it describe what I may have done over the last couple of years as illustrated by this picture taken of me yesterday.

I had carried a change of clothes to my post-op visit following last week’s knee surgery, but, as I changed, I noticed I had failed to bring a change of socks.  I spent the rest of the day in black jeans,black shoes, and white socks.

My immediate thought was to hop into a store and buy a pair of black socks.  That’s what I would have done in the past – ok, what I recall having done in the past under similar circumstances.

Yesterday, though, I demonstrated maturity. As I have a drawn full (relatively) of black socks at home, it made little sense to buy more.

I don’t think anyone was offended nor was my witness or ministry hindered by the Sock Problem.

Perhaps I can continue to evolve in the same direction. I hope next time to remember to bring the requisite socks.

Published by Steve Heyduck

I am a United Methodist pastor, currently appointed as Pastor of OvillaUnited Methodist Church in Ovilla, Texas. I am also the husband of Rachel and father of 3 - Robbie, Eliza, and Liam. I am an ardent nonconstantian and a postmodern Christian. (I am also happy to talk with you about what these things mean to me)

One thought on “Evolution?

  1. I have two kinds of socks: white socks and black socks. That’s all the color complexity I can handle in that realm. Unfortunately, not all my black socks fade at the same rate.

Leave a comment