Skip to content

Good Coffee, Part 2

by on February 19, 2013

Good Coffee, Part 2A guy walks into a coffee shop. This guy was me and I wanted coffee.  I buy whole bean and grind it at home for my french press.  I’m a coffee “fan.”

Guy who works at the coffee shop offers to teach me how to make better coffee.  I wonder, “Who is he to teach me how to make better coffee?”  When I was turning burgers for McDonald’s, did that endue me with power and knowledge to help others learn to cook better burgers?

More importantly, and more convictingly, is this how I approach my own job?  Is it my place to presume I have something to offer others to help them live lives more in line with God’s will?

Who am I to presume you are not already doing well with God?

As I walked out of the coffee shop I realized that two things needed to happen before I would deign to learn at the feet of the Coffee Guru.  First, I would like to taste his coffee. Second, he should probably test my coffee. Then we could perhaps both know who should be teaching whom how to make better coffee.

Which brings me back again to comparing this with my own job. For that matter, to our call as Christians to be making disciples.  We ought to be crafting lives such that, should we invite someone to follow us, they will see something about our lives and the way we live them they find worth following.

If you were to invite someone to follow you, shouldn’t you at least let them know where it is you think you are going?

 

2 Comments
  1. I think the question he should’ve asked is, “How do you make your coffee?” and begun a conversation with you, starting with where you are at on the journey of coffee expertise. For Christians, it can be easy for us to want to “evangelize” others on our “coffee-making” and deposit all of our knowledge into others’ empty vessels, when we should be taking the approach that perhaps they know something about God in their own experience and reason that we don’t know anything about. Maybe we should start with a question like, “How do you relate to God?”

  2. Brad Brown permalink

    My take on sharing ideas for great coffee is contrary to this. I discovered the AeroPress about a year ago, and found that the coffee I get from it is worlds better than any other method I had tried. I began to “evangelize” the benefits of aeropressed coffee to anyone I knew that drank coffee – not out of some sense of superiority of my way versus theirs, or because I thought I knew more, but because I had discovered something so great I thought my friends would love and benefit from it, too.

    Shouldn’t that be how we approach our faith as well? I would never tell someone that the way they believe or the way they practice their faith is wrong, but if my beliefs or a way in which I practice them has had a meaningful impact in my life, I would hope that I would be so excited about the effects on my life that I couldn’t help but tell others I know who I think would appreciate what I’d discovered.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,073 other followers

