A Day in the Life and Death

A week ago today rocked me a bit.  My phone told me I was receiving a call from my aunt.  The voice on the call told me differently.  The voice was that of a cousin, who, from her grandmother’s phone, was calling to tell me a first cousin of mine had died.

This Aunt had already lost a sister and brother in the past 5 months. Now her 61 year old son, himself a father of 2 and devoted husband, had died of a heart attack.

Later in the day, Rachel shared news with me from facebook that a dear friend of ours had lost a cousin to a massive stroke that same day. She had been 35.

The death of someone as close as a first cousin confronts one with one’s own mortality.  The death of someone a decade and a half younger brought it even closer to home for me.

As we sat watching something from our DVR, I actually caught myself praying that I would live to see the end of the episode.

I chuckled at myself, then gave thanks that, this same day that death seemed to impinge so closely, I had also received, by mail, results from the bloodwork of my recent annual physical.  All the numbers were good – confirming the call I had received late last week.

So I went to bed that night pondering this one line from the Service of Death and Resurrection – a line I had heard read at the funeral I led the day before:  “In the midst of life, we are in death.”

Indeed, we are.  Let’s be thankful for the days we have, and share the love with others that we have received.

Published by Steve Heyduck

I am a United Methodist pastor, currently appointed as Pastor of OvillaUnited Methodist Church in Ovilla, Texas. I am also the husband of Rachel and father of 3 - Robbie, Eliza, and Liam. I am an ardent nonconstantian and a postmodern Christian. (I am also happy to talk with you about what these things mean to me)

2 thoughts on “A Day in the Life and Death

  1. Steve — beautifully written — and a great reminder to live in the moment!! I’m going to post on my facebook. Although many are celebrating and happy this time of year; many are still facing great trials and cannot see the Light in their darkness. Thanks for being a blessing to our family and the world.

Leave a comment