Please Don’t Check Your Brain at the Voter Registration

I am not making this up:

I interrupted a conversation I was eavesdropping on this morning. After the third “I can’t believe a Muslim could be our next President,” I broke in.

“Obama isn’t a Muslim.” I said.

“Well, now we know who you’re voting for.”

“That’s not the point,” I suggested. “Obama is not a Muslim.”

In popping a dimmer bulb: “Well, he’s half of Muslim origin. Kinda like I’m half of German origin.”

“That doesn’t work,” I pointed out. “‘German’ isn’t a religion. You might say Obama is half African, or half Kenyan, like you are half German, but the Muslim thing doesn’t work that way.”

Robbie, my daughter observed later that perhaps this guy wanted to take the blame for the Holocaust. Makes as much sense as suggesting Obama is secretly supporting bin Laden or something like that.

I really wanted to believe our electorate was smarted than this. I really, really wanted to.

Please vote. Please think before you vote.

4 thoughts on “Please Don’t Check Your Brain at the Voter Registration

Leave a Reply

