‘Twas the Monday before Christmas

Ah, Christmas.

If Christmas is Jesus’ birthday, why doesn’t Jesus get the gifts? (I wish I could say I came up with this question, but I got Len Sweet on Twitter)

Well? What does Jesus get for his birthday?

We have a tendency to answer this with something like the words from the last verse of the song, “In the Bleak Midwinter:”

What can I give him,
Poor as I am?
If I were a shepherd
I would bring a lamb.
If I were a wise man
I would do my part,
Yet what I can I give Him —
Give my heart.

So, it’s settled: just give Jesus your heart for Christmas; that’s all he wants.
The American Research Group reports that the average American plans to spend $523 on Christmas this year. This is down from a high of $1052 in 2001.

I contend that if we are spending that much on Christmas, we really aren’t giving Jesus our hearts.

This year, for Christmas, let’s give Jesus some money.

That’s what we spend on others to say we care about them.

2 thoughts on “‘Twas the Monday before Christmas

  1. $480 billion will be spent on Christmas worldwide this year, despite the current economy.

    Experts state that just $10 billion would allow for everyone in the world to have clean water.

    What we spend on Christmas still has me scratching my head quite a bit . . .

Leave a Reply

