Preaching Sin

I was very disgusted with myself last night. While leading a Bible Study on Matthew 2:1-12, I realized that I had sinned while preaching the same passage that morning.

I misread part of the scripture passage, and then spent a solid couple of minutes tearing into people doing what I was accusing Herod of doing.

Here’s the irony, and the part that really makes this sad.  I was accusing Herod of pulling the Bethlehem quote from Micah 5:2 (in Matthew 2:6) and using it for his purpose – to have the Magi find this “child born king of the Jews” for him so that he could have the baby killed.

I went on and on about how people don’t carefully read scripture, or read only this part or that part, and then use particular verses to make some point they want to make, whether or not the verse actually means what they allege it to mean.

I owe an apology to everyone there.  I write it here first because I felt it was a good thought to get out to all of you.  We who are called to preaching have an awesome responsibility to respect the Word of God and the people to whom we are preaching.  We (preachers) are not alone in our misuse of scripture, but falls are  a lot louder when they happen in front of a crowd.

One thought on “Preaching Sin

  1. I recently made a follow up correction to one of my newsletter articles. Upon re-reading it, I realized it sounded as if I had combined a couple of parables. It didn’t change the point I was making, but I share your respect for God’s Word & for those we are called to share it with.

    Take the opportunity to turn into a bigger, deeper by making the correction next Sunday morning. Inviting people into the process could connect them in a very meaningful way.

    I’ve had some conversations recently about how much closer people tend to draw in when we exhibit our humanity and humility. The stories centered around youth ministers using foul language in front of students. Not in regular conversations, but in a stressful, temporary lapse of personal control. The ones that tried to gloss over it lost respect. But when you fess up, own it, and sincerely apologize to people, they understand that we all lack perfection.

    It chills me to think how many preachers, teachers, leaders, etc. have realized they made a mistake but would never correct themselves due to pride.

Leave a Reply

