Leaves

leavesIt finally rained in Central Texas last week. It had been dry for several months.

On one of those rainy days, walking to my car I noticed water backed up in the road. I looked to the right a bit, the direction the water should have been flowing, to see what was stopping the flow.

Leaves. Small leaves. Hundreds of small, brown leaves had piled up enough to stop the water.

Interesting, I thought; the rainwater itself had moved these leaves into their present position. Now piled there by the water, together all these leaves stopped the flow of the water.

If your life were the water, what small, seemingly inconsequential things are your leaves? How many times have you, stepping back from some issue to gain perspective, found that the things that had been hindering you are things that you yourself have caused to get in the way?

Leave the leaves aside. flow right on through all those little things that would stand in your way.

5 thoughts on “Leaves

  1. Methodist ministers always have struck me as particularly adept at making this kind of analogy/connection. Even by this higher standard, this is a really good one, Steve. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. I like the analogy Steve. This week I am preaching of the Via Dolorosa and wondering what keeps us from making that journey with Jesus. Do we help to carry the cross or does something get in our way? I was thinking of a crossroads analogy but I like yours as well.

  3. Help yourself! I think the more we share analogies with one another, the better off we all are.

    After all, we cannot understand God completely anyway, but I think we can come closest by analogies. Lots of them.

Leave a Reply

