Muscles and Joints, Spirit and Faith

As you know if you follow me on Facebook or Twitter (steveheyduck), I played in a basketball tournament last Saturday. The tournament was a fundraiser for the Laura Edwards Christian Early Leraning Center here in Waco.

For the past 6-7 months, I’ve been a slug about exercise. I walk all over campus, but walking, even at a brisk pace, doesn’t prepare a 45 year old for 3 games of basketball in one day.

I subbed myself out when I wasn’t keeping up with the game as it went up and down the court, but even so have found my muscles and joints aching progressively ore as the subsequent hours have passed. I expect the aches, stiffness, and pain to start subsiding Wednesday.  In the meantime, Rachel and I are also going to begin our exercising this evening with a 2.5 mile walk before dinner.

After last week’s discussion over name-calling, and last night’s experience with the Void Collective, this morning I am pondering the spiritual implications of my aches and pains.

Our spiritual lives are inseperably interwined with our bodies, and, I would argue, are analagous in many ways.

The relevance in this case is clear to me: I’m not as young as I used to be.  Getting in shape, even maintaining a particular level of conditioning, requires more effort and commitment as one ages.

I wonder to what extent this is true spirutually.  As I read about and talk with others about renewal efforts in my denomination, the United Methodist Church, I suspect that stiffness, inflexibility, and declining strength come with age unless commitment is increased over the life-cycle.  I think this is true for individuals and for systems.

The longer we live, the more effort it takes to maintain any particular level of physical fitness.  The same is true of spiritual fitness.

Been a Christian for a while?  How are your flexibility and strength?

One thought on “Muscles and Joints, Spirit and Faith

  1. Getting in shape and staying in shape, spiritually, relationally and physically takes greater and greater effort. I agree that commitment has to be increased of the life-cycle.

Leave a Reply

