A Worthwhile Cause?

Not every cause promises to change one’s life.  If I jump on board with this one, mine would surely be very different. I read this morning, on a General Board of Church and Society note, about Killer Coke.

I’ve blogged about my love of Diet Coke before.  In fact, I found a post about the stuff from August 2005 – was I really blogging back then?  Giving up Diet Coke in supprot of this cause would be a drastic change for me.

dietcokeI am going to read more about the protest, and I’ll let you know.

3 thoughts on “A Worthwhile Cause?

  1. Some of this seems hypocritical to me. Coke ignores what’s going on in Darfur? So do most churches. Coke unnecissarily pollutes in environment? So do most church families that bring more than one car to church on Sunday. Aspartame’s bad for you? So is most of the stuff we bring to Church potluck dinners.
    It has become way to easy for the church to point fingers at the government and corporations and tell them to do our work. Until we start taking some personal responsibility and send more missionaries into other countries to truly make a difference, I’m just going to sit back and have a Coke and a smile.

  2. I hear ya, Brian; right now, I am considering parting with Diet Coke, or at least severely limiting my relationship with it – primarily on account of it really not being good for me anyway.

  3. Isn’t there Dr. Pepper available where you live? Why is there need to boycott Coke based on business practices? Why not boycott it cause it tastes like something off the bottom of a shoe.

Leave a Reply

