My 4th Blogiversary!

Well, here we are. Four years ago today I launched my first blog at blogspot.  I moved here a couple years later.

Before that, I can’t remember exactly when, my brother Richard invited me to join him blogging at banditsnomore.blogspot.com.  I agreed, but floundered for quite a while, not managing to write more than a couple times a month.

This and my blogspot site are both titled “everyday theology.” They are named for a weekly column I began writing for the Mart weekly in 2001 or so.

Weekly writing for the small-town local seemed a good idea; a good way to reach beyond my congregation with thoughts and observations.  It took me a couple of years living and pastoring in Mart to get the nerve to commit to writing weekly.  I knew I could do it, but I also knew that signing on for a regular gig would mean I would have to do it. I wasn’t sure I would have something to say every week.

Some week came easier than others, but I learned along the way that having to write every week, in the long run, made me better.

In January of 2004 I was appointed to McGregor, another small town, with another weekly newspaper. The McGregor Mirror was and still is run by the Mooney family, all good Methodists, so I moved my column there.

It’s funny; other pastors began telling me they would write for me for a week here or there. One even suggested that would give me a break.  The Mirror was happy to print any of us who submitted, so I’m not sure why they thought they should write to give me a break from writing.  Perhaps they should just have written.

I am not sure how long it took me to realize that weekly newspaper columns could also be blog posts, but that’s how I got here.

Earlier this year I determined to ramp up my writing.  For probably a couple of years I’ve posted with the regularity of a couple of times a week.  Lately, though, I’ve been trying to make sure and post at least 3, sometimes 4 times a week, depending on workload.

As you can tell if you’ve been following, more writing hasn’t meant that there is something worth reading everyday, but I am pretty sure that the more I write, the more likely I am to write something worth reading.

Thank you for reading, thank you for commenting, and thank you for linking to me and sharing what I’ve got.

Some of you have asked me for permission to use something I’ve written here for small groups, sunday school classes, even speeches at Annual Conference.  Yes, permission is always given. I merely ask that you would steer some other folks here, too, that I might benefit from their reactions/reflections as well.

One thought on “My 4th Blogiversary!

  1. I’m glad you’re here, Steve. I’ve thought I needed to start blogging, but I always run into a couple of problems. First is the not-being-able-to-think-of-what-to-write thing. I have a hard enough time with a monthly newsletter column.

    Second is that I am a big journaler, but I’m so stream of consciousness, I’m afraid of what would end up on the blog. Like overly self-revelatory thoughts or things I’ll just wish I hadn’t offered up to the cyber universe. I’m sure you’re right, that it’s a rhythm that develops with time, and I would just have to decide to put in that time.

    I’m glad you’re doing it, though!

Leave a Reply

