The Art of the Sermon

Last night was my first ever experience of Rob Bell in person preaching/speaking/delivering a message.   I intended to take notes, perhaps even twitter it, but found myself rather just listening, watching, absorbing.

Bell has been a major influence on me for these last 4 or 5 years, so seeing/hearing him in person was a joy.  This guy comes across as passionate and genuine as I feel when I preach.

In fact, honestly, I have adopted some of his style, method, and intonation.  This is apparently not overdone, else I’m sure I would have heard about it from colleagues by now.

This conference is about “reclaiming the art of the sermon.”  For that, I’m all in.  The part of that that I’ve always gotten is the part of the art that springs, sui generis, from the identity of the preacher.  The part I want to develop, and that I expect this conference to help with, is the study, the work development and practice of the art that brings it together over time.

I have already found the inspiration and motivation that going to a conference offers; so, for the next two days, I am eager to find the rest of what is in this for me.

Leave a Reply

