Becoming a Father (again)

Rachel and I announced in worship yesterday that she is pregnant.  I announced via facebook and twitter just after that.

It is very exciting and a bit intimidating to think about becoming a father again.  I have a daughter, Robbie, who will turn 21 before this child is born in May.

On one hand, I’ve covered a lot of ground since I was 25 and welcomed Robbie home.  On another, I am excited about this new opportunity.

Especially since I began working with at-risk youth, I have been acutely aware how important parenting is.  Thus the intimidation of bringing a child into the world in 2010.

But I’ve got an awesome partner in Rachel, and have much more excitement than intimidation.

There is much more to this story; I’ll keep you posted.

6 thoughts on “Becoming a Father (again)

  1. Congratulations! My wife Kyly and I (both of us in our 40s) had twins a year ago this November. It’s been (and continues to be) quite an amazing ride.

  2. At least you didn’t say, “We are pregnant,” an untruth if ever there was one. Both of you are expecting, but only one of you is pregnant. I’m very happy at your news.

Leave a Reply

