Hell-Know? Please don’t go.

Someone asked me yesterday what I thought of “Hell House.” I shared then, and I’ll share here.

I suppose most “ministries” that offer Hell Houses are well intentioned. I suspect their motivation is to reach people for Jesus in ways that encourage decisions for Christ to be made.

However, I find these performances/exhibits abhorrent and antithetical to the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear; for fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not reached perfection in love.” (1 John 4:18, NRSV)

Jesus is not about fear.  I don’t recall him resorting to “scaring the ‘Hell’ out of people” to get them to say a prayer or make a decision for him.

Whether or not you support such events, let us all be prepared following this weekend to work together to nbind up the wounds caused by such things.

5 thoughts on “Hell-Know? Please don’t go.

  1. Steve – I completely agree. I just learned about hell houses this week on This American Life. Check it out if you haven’t already, it’s a free podcast.

    Once I had heard enough to get the idea I turned to Lara and said, “I don’t think God is into this.”

  2. I completely agree. I just blogged about this, too. Along with causing hurt and pain, Hell Houses exacerbate the perception that Christians only care about nonChristians as potential converts, not as people. Hell Houses are only about converting people – they aren’t about building relationships with them, which is what we are called to do.

  3. I completely agree, and I appreciate your comments, Steve.

    There has to be a better way to share a witness to the good news of Jesus Christ! May we bind together to bind up those wounds which might – and will – be inflicted in the name of or representing our loving and caring God.

    Blessed be!

  4. you wouldn’t believe (actually…maybe you would) the number of students that ask me why i won’t take them to Hell House.

    i tell them that i’d rather take you to a “real” haunted house. at least they’re trying to scare you for the fun of it.

Leave a Reply

