This Weekend – Exploration 2009

Explo09LOGO-sThis weekend Rachel and I are off to Exploration 2009 in Dallas.  I’m actually in town for a wedding, but will be attending some of the Explration event.
Exploration is designed for individuals under 25 who are interested in or curious about serving in ordained ministry in the United Methodist Church.  We United Methodists have made a big deal lately about the dearth of young clergy within our denomination. See here and here for starters.

At 46 years old, and more than 2 decades out of seminary, I in no way qualify for the “young clergy” label, and I’m comfortable with that.  THAT I enjoy spending time with and hearing the thoughts, attitudes, dreams, and vision of younger clergy keeps me fresh and encouraged.

I’m looking forward to meeting more ouf our talented, called young people this weekend.  I’ll share early next week some reflections of mine from this event.

Leave a Reply

