Wouldn’t it be great if…

Wouldn’t it be great if I were more organized?

Wouldn’t it be great if I dealt with each piece of mail once, instead of letting things pile up on my desk for weeks at a time?

Wouldn’t it be great if I could get in the habit of flossing my teeth every day?

My list could go on and on; I’m guessing yours could, too.

One of mine, up until this week, was a “storage room” adjacent to our fellowship hall.  It is actually 1/6 of the room, but the collapsible walls around this section had never been collapsed in the 3 years I’ve been here.  It became a storage room between 4 and 5 years ago, and gradually filled, almost to overflowing.

Then, a month or so ago my supervisor suggested we clean it up.

We have been doing exactly that this week.  Somewhere during this process, I reflected as I cleaned that I’ve been wishing for 3 years now that this storage room might be cleaned out and restored to usability.  It is now about 90% of the way there.

As I reflected I realized that I had come close to starting the project several times, but each time decided it was too big a job.

It really hasn’t been all that bad.  The other staff of our building have shared the task with me, and it has been, to tell you the truth, a rather enjoyable engagement.

But now it has gotten me thinking: What are some other things I have thought about, put off, pondered “wouldn’t it be great if…” yet never got around to doing.

Not much good in life just happens to you, you know?  On the other hand, stepping up and doing something, moving from passive to active, can make a huge difference.

Wouldn’t it be great if I could only remember that?

One thought on “Wouldn’t it be great if…

  1. This encourages me to tackle the scary part of my basement!! It will be done this year!! (Henry says 2011!!)

Leave a Reply

