Flippin Pancakes

Tonight I am flipping pancakes. Austin Avenue United Methodist Church, where my wife Rachel serves as Associate Pastor, is having a Shrove Tuesday Pancake Supper.

I flip pancakes. I flip them well. It’s one of the crafts I learned at McDonald’s when I was in high school.  I had many unsuccessful attempts at learning to flip pancakes prior to my Golden Arches experience, mostly on Boy Scout camp-outs.

There are two tricks to successful pancake flipping. The first is patience.  Everyone knows to wait until bubbles appear and then pop on the pancake.  But knowing how many bubbles to wait on is a lesson learned by practice and by learning to be patient with the batter.

The second trick is easier to learn but harder, apparently, to follow.  Pancakes should be turned only once.  Turning a pancake back over after having turned it once makes the first cooked side hard rather tha soft as it ought to be.

This is more than you wanted to know, I’m sure, but this second trick is the main reason I volunteered to flip pancakes last year, and am looking forward to doing so again.  I just hate to see (and eat) pancakes that have been turned too many times.

I dislike it enough to step forward and do something about it.

Are there things you dislike enough to step forward and do something (positive) about it?

Leave a Reply

