Waiting

I don’t know about you, but waiting is not easy for me.

Rachel and I are waiting.  Our daughter, Eliza Megan Heyduck, was due yesterday.  According to our Dr., Rachel and Eliza have both been ready for at least a couple of weeks.

And yet, we wait.

This morning I remembered all the times recently that I have been reminded that if I am in control God is not.  Now, I am not saying that God actively determines every labor pain and delivery time, just like I would not say that every thing that happens in life is at God’s direct behest.

Whether or not God steps in and takes control and begins the labor process, Rachel and I are trying not to step in and take control ourselves.  Thus, we wait. Paul wrote in Romans that “patience produces character, and character produces hope. (Romans 5:4).

More and more moms and dads, we hear, are scheduling their delivery dates.  We have a date scheduled, this Thursday, on which our doctor plans to induce labor if Eliza doesn’t come before then.

But  for now, we wait.

2 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. Waiting places us in concurrent realities: now, and when. If we’re willing to abandon the annoyance, waiting places us in the reality of transcendance. It is a condition to relish, to anticipate with comfort.

    Our prayers are with you as you wait.

Leave a Reply

