How do you feel about God?

I feel like I have been more and more in tune with atheists over the last couple of years. Not that I believe any less in the existence of God.

I have just met too many people who have have chosen to alienate themselves from God based on their perceptions of who God is. Most of these perceptions come from or through other people.

Of course, not everyone who feels alienated from God declares him or herself an atheist. Some just walk away from the church and God, wanting to have nothing more to do with either one.

Perhaps my sense of companionship with these folk comes from my own realization several years ago that belief in God and $3 will get you a cup of coffee (most places). James wrote long ago that “You believe that God is one; you do well. Even the demons believe—and shudder.” (James 2:19)

I have a friend who walked away from the church more than 20 years ago. She did so for a variety of reasons, but most of them fell under the heading of her having felt like the church had walked away from her.

One thought on “How do you feel about God?

  1. This is interesting. I have long thought – and said so in a recent post of my own – that the believer-unbeliever contest is so often undercut by the tendency to think of God too anthropomorphically. I know the Bible portrays God as a personality, but that doesn’t mean I have to. I believe in a God that can be found, through worship and meditation and art and above all through interaction with others, in the rich space that lies all around us and in us. That is the true message of the mystery of the Incarnation. But as a friend of mine always says in every conversation: does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

