Don’t be a “Christian….but”

HT Aaron Ashlock for connecting me with this blog fodder!

ESPN reports that Tucker Carlson says Michael Vick should be killed for torturing dogs.  To make it worse (to me, anyway) Carlson says this:

“I’m a Christian, I’ve made mistakes myself, I believe fervently in second chances,” Carlson said on the show. “But Michael Vick killed dogs….”

This isn’t the first time Carlson has sounded foolish.  Remember the famous Crossfire episode with Jon Stewart?

So, fellow followers of Jesus, let’s make this New Year’s resolution: we all agree we will not throw down statements that include this pattern: “I’m a Christian…. But….”

If we refuse to be “Christian…buts,” we will find ourselves less likely to end up Christian butts.

One thought on “Don’t be a “Christian….but”

  1. I understand not taking Tucker Carlson as a model for Christian speech, but I don’t follow how this example means that utterances of the form specified ought to be avoided. “But” is merely a conjunction used for contrast. Since it is possible for people to believe things about Christians that are not true – or at least not optimally true – then it is also possible that a Christian speaker might find the need to employ such an utterance. “You believe all Christians are cannibals. I am a Christian, BUT I am not a cannibal.”

Leave a Reply

