Stop being so dang Spiritual!

I mean it.  I think we (Christians) need to be less spiritual.  Ok, not actually less spiritual, but less “spiritual.”

Rachel and I were talking last night about Romans.  She is beginning a study at Austin Avenue this morning on Romans, and I just finished teaching on Romans at PSYM.  Rachel’s question for me, which brought all this up was about the difference between “transformation” and “conversion.”

Conversion, I suggested, has too much spiritual baggage for me, generally.  So much of American Christianity is various versions of “I’ve got a ticket to heaven, and, since there’s really nothing that can be done about me or the way I behave here and now, I suppose I’ll just kick back and wait till I die.”

“Christians aren’t perfect, just forgiven.”

I’m sorry, but what a load.

Jesus really doesn’t talk much about tickets to heaven.  He doesn’t mention at all (in any translation I’ve read) that we ought to just hang out waiting on death, expecting no possibility of change, growth, transformation before then.

Jesus taught as though he expected those who follow him to actually begin to live lives that were different.  They were to actually forgive, to love enemies and neighbors, to worship God in spirit and truth.

So please, this week, when you feel like passing off living like Jesus until the afterlife, please think again, and set all that “spiritual” stuff aside. It isn’t about reading a warm-fuzzy first thing in the morning about how much God loves you.  It is about living like God has, and will today, make an actual difference in your life.

Your ACTUAL life, not just your “spiritual” life.

6 thoughts on “Stop being so dang Spiritual!

  1. Thank you for posting this. This is my first visit to your blog so I’ll have to look around a little more, but I like this post.

    I have no religion in my life. I am not a Christian in the religious sense, but I do appreciate Jesus’ teaching and I’m not aware of him telling his disciples to rest on their proverbial laurels.

  2. I mean, I have no faith or belief in a supreme being. I don’t believe in a cognitive god and therefore do not believe that Jesus is the son of such a god.

    But when GWB said that Jesus is his favorite philospher – I could relate to that (and may be the only thing to which I can relate with the former prez.) 🙂

  3. Great post (Shey?), I agree with you -it is the result of the dangerous theology we see in recent decades in America: “repeat this prayer -now you are saved!, relax and enjoy the ride”

    As someone put it, if you come and say a truck just hit you, I would want to see some evidences (bruises and scratches at the very least) before I can believe such thing actually happened. There is no salvation without santification.

    Girly, It’s great you admire Jesus as philosopher. Somebody challenged me once saying that if I believed Jesus had been a good man and a great ‘teacher’ and even example of love and that’s it (and not the son of God), I was implying He was a lier or a lunatic; either He -Jesus, lied saying He was God, was crazy or… indeed He was in fact God in flesh.

    See: http://thoughtswithaccent.wordpress.com/2010/10/27/was-jesus-just-another-good-person/

    • The way I understand what church is about is that church is a bunch of people committed to helping each other live the way of Jesus; to follow his teachings.

      I personally think Jesus himself is alright with our not having the cognitive side of eternity figured out.

Leave a Reply

