As close as I’ve been in a long, long time.

Just about 10 minutes ago, I came as close as I’ve been in a long time to a Little Debbie® Oatmeal Creme Pie. It was quite an experience for me, and, you’ll be glad to know, I was able to just walk away.

Once upon a time these creamy little pieces of heaven were one of my main go-to foods for stress.

They are, and can be, no longer.

First, they really aren’t that good for you. Full of fat, only 1 gram of protein.  I can’t go down that road anymore.  I am on track now, and intend to stay this way, to still be healthy and active when Eliza graduates from high school (at which time I’ll be 64, unless Rick Perry eliminates the later grades so he can spend even less money on education, but I digress….)

Honestly, one oatmeal creme pie, at 170 calories, would be very manageable for me.  My problem is, I cannot remember the last time I ate just one.

There are plenty of things that, overdone, are harmful to me, that I have no trouble at all limiting myself.  One or two beers now and then, in good company, and I’m fine.    A doughnut or two for a morning treat, I’m ok.

But then there are things like Little Debbie Oatmeal Creme Pies that are really difficult for me to stop at one or two.  These things I simply have to avoid. For my own good.

It helps, I suppose, that I don’t spend time with people who are eating oatmeal creme pies.

2 thoughts on “As close as I’ve been in a long, long time.

  1. You can send all of your oatmeal cream pies this way to Kyle … who at 13 and about 5’10”, is simply a human furnace who LOVES those little OCPs and who burns whatever he puts in his mouth so quickly it never reaches his pencil-thin waist.

    And did you know a 20-oz margarita is 31 points? Yikes, although 20 oz sounds like a lot, I’ll bet it’s not hard for some of those restaurant margaritas to = that. Just found that out this week. Another one of my illusions shattered.

Leave a Reply

