How is your Bread?

On my way through Moody the other day I saw this on a church sign: “The Bread of Life never goes stale.”  This is referring, of course, to John 6:35 where Jesus says  “I am the bread of life.

While I like the idea, and agree with what this sign says about Jesus, it made me think.

Is the Jesus (or bread) I offer and rely on sometimes stale with procedure or bureaucracy or local tradition? Sometimes the bread of life I am offering is indeed rather stale.

Jesus doesn’t go stale, but sometimes what we pass of as Jesus is old, hard, and crusty.

One thought on “How is your Bread?

  1. “Jesus doesn’t go stale, but sometimes what we pass of as Jesus is old, hard, and crusty.” LOL Steve, the old saying is, “You may be the only Bible some people ever read,” or you could also say, “You may be the only Jesus some people ever see.” I don’t see my self as old, hard, and crusty yet!

    But the point is well taken. It reminds me of a little story a preacher from my childhood once told … of how a certain layman would get up every Sunday night in worship and say the same thing, “The Lord filled my cup 50 years ago and it’s been full ever since.” Finally one week a little boy leaned over to his mother and said in a stage whisper, “Mommy, I bet his cup has wiggle-worms in it.”

    May we never get old, stale, and crusty … or get a case of the wiggle-worms.

Leave a Reply

