Do you wear change, or does change wear you?

What do you think of my new shoes? I’ve had them for two weeks, and worn them twice.

The thing about new shoes is, at least for me, they hurt my feet for a while.  The first day, I quickly got a blister on my right heel.

But I like the shoes.  (They are, I think, my first ever pair of Florsheims) They ought to last me several years, so what’s wrong with a but if rubbing, discomfort, even blisters on the front end?

While I am not always looking for a metaphor for change, this one struck me almost as quickly as the blister on my heel.

Some people say we don’t like change.  The Heath brothers disagree, and so do I.  As they succinctly say, if we weren’t open to change, no one would have children.

What is it about change that we don’t like?  Perhaps that it is painful at first?

What kind of change(s) are you willing, even eager to make in spite of the pain or discomfort that you know will come on the front side?

3 thoughts on “Do you wear change, or does change wear you?

  1. I have a love-hate relationship with change. Even when change is ostensibly positive. At first I embrace the IDEA of change but when it comes to actually doing it, it hits me that I am leaving something behind. There is always loss associated with change.

Leave a Reply

