Back to the Grind

After a good week at Glen Lake Camp, it is back to the grind today.

Getting back to the office and the otherwise ordinary routine after a week of camp takes some adjustment.  Time and life at camp, or any number of other times away, does not seem particularly well connected to “real life.”

In fact, I heard a camp staffer refer, Friday morning, to exactly that; “the real world,” to which we were all about to go back.

Early on in my years in youth ministry, I really began to notice this. Kids would have a phenomenal experience at church camp or a mission trip, but then lament the end of the experience, as though regular life were to be dreaded.

But it wasn’t until I realized that I was much the same that I also decided something had to be done about this.

You see, I don’t want to be part of system that teaches people, especially young people, that God is only really accessible at special events, camps, retreats, etc.

I happen to believe that God is every bit as present on our daily grind as when we “get away from it all.”

I also believe that until we start teaching and living this way, we will little more than noisy gongs or crashing cymbals.

It is good to be home.

Leave a Reply

