What should be shaken, what shouldn’t?

I offered to bring Rachel a glass of orange juice this morning.  as I handed it to her, she asked if I had shaken it.

I hadn’t. Hadn’t thought of it.  I don’t drink orange juice often enough to think about that.

On the other hand, I always shake the half-gallon milk carton before pouring. Always.

Why?  Years ago, when I lived in Maryland (which, until next month, was the longest I had ever lived anywhere, but that’ll be another post) we bought milk by the half-gallon, though we only went to the grocery store once a week at the most.

Which meant, with two pre-teen boys, a lot of half-gallons of milk each trip.

Most cartons each time were kept in the freezer until it was their turn in the frig.  Of course, after freezing and thawing, milk needs to be shaken.

I don’t think milk that has never been frozen needs to be shaken. Honestly, I don’t know for sure that previously frozen milk needs to be shaken.

That’s the way I was raised, though, so that is what I still do with every half-gallon of milk; I shake it.

What habits do you have that pre-date your understanding of why you have them?  Are these habits of value?  Are you sure?

2 thoughts on “What should be shaken, what shouldn’t?

  1. I shake my unfrozen milk, but it is because I like my milk just a tad foamy… even though cold… So I have purpose at least for that habit.

  2. I am a serious creature of habit, so I’m sure there are some things I do “just because.” The weird thing is, I can’t think of any of them right now even though I’ve tried. I suspect it’s because my habits are so automatic that they are difficult to bring to awareness. Like, unless I was actually in the act of shaking the milk carton when I was thinking about this, it wouldn’t occur to me that I do it.

    And yes, I think there is a point to shaking previously frozen milk. It tends to separate while thawing. Also, shaking distributes any icy bits left inside.

    I remember that my kids went through a phase where they always tapped the top of the soda can before opening. They thought this kept it from exploding. For some reason that I can’t explain, this habit drove me nuts.

Leave a Reply

