Is Life Weighing You Down?

I remember once observing an interaction between two people who had just met. One guessed that the other was educated and had an office job. The second was surprised that this person he had just met could tell so much about him.

“It’s really nothing. I could tell by how straight you stand and walk that you haven’t spent your life carrying a heavy load.”

A couple of weeks ago our house got a new roof. As I heard the 70 pound bundles of shingles getting dropped on the roof, I remembered the summer I spent roofing – and carrying such bundles up a ladder and onto roofs. I am indeed thankful (especially this summer!) that I don’t spend my days carrying such weight.

But there is another kind of weight we all carry. We carry the weight of relationships, of trials, of pain, sorrow, and failure. If we don’t deal with these things, they weigh us down more and more over the years. Untreated, these emotional weights will affect even the way we walk and the way we stand.

Sometimes we feel like the weight we carry is related to, or even from, God. Today I want to remind you of these words of Jesus:

?Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.? (Matthew 11:28-30)

NONE of the weight you and i might be carrying is from God. If we seek to follow Jesus, we can take comfort in these words – the yoke (which means teaching) Jesus offers us is easy and his burden is light.

Whatever of life is weighing you down, that is not God’s intent for your life!

Leave a Reply

