The reach of consequences

I was scheduled to have had knee surgery this week. It was postponed because I was still taking the daily low-dose aspirin suggested by my physician a couple of years ago.consequences-300x204

I received notice from the orthopedic surgeon’s office last Friday that I was to stop taking aspirin two weeks before the procedure.0

Yes, I received that notice four days before the procedure.

Mistakes happen and messages are not always sent in a timely fashion; I have been on both sides of this. As it turns out, the surgicenter where the rescheduled surgery will take place will cost me a fraction of what the hospital was charging, so waiting a week is a good thing.

The postponement has also allowed me to work much more this week than I had expected.  Since I was away from the office all week last week for PSYM, It has been a good week.

As I think about the consequences of the miscommunication of the orthopedic office, I cannot help but think about the potential issues and consequences that may happen when I miscommunicate.

This brings some clarity for me to the words of Jesus in Matthew 18:6:

But if anyone causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a large millstone hung around his neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea.

As the sarge always said on Hill Street Blues, “Let’s be careful out there!”

 

Leave a Reply

