Precrastination

I did not know precrastination was a word when I made it up this morning during my run.  Now that I have found it is a “new word or slang,” I want to enter the fray. I want to fight for the right to  define precrastinate.

Instead of putting off or planning to procrastinate, I want to claim precrastinate as doing something ahead of time so that you aren’t caught later facing the likelihood of procrastinating.

For instance, take my run this morning.  I really, really didn’t feel like getting up and going.  I knew, though, that tomorrow morning would be very cold and that I am likely to be out late tonight.  However I felt this morning, I knew tomorrow morning I would feel LESS like running than I did today.

This is what put me over the motivational hump to run this morning!  As I slogged through the first half mile, I seriously considering stopping after one mile.  As it turned out, though, the motivation of skipping the run AND the guilt tomorrow energized me to complete a bit more than 3 1/2 today.

I kind of like this precrastination thing.  I am going to see if I can make it work in other areas of my life.

Leave a Reply

