Less than a mile

Rachel has been away at the annual Board of Ordained Ministry meeting.  These are, perhaps, the only 2 days of the year that I have sole responsibility for our children all day.

A couple of hours into this, I am confronted with this: I do not show her enough appreciation for all she does.  In addition to working at Euless First UMC, and her various Conference responsibilities, she does an excellent job of taking care of our kids and our home.

Sure, I help, and I do more than the stereotypical dad.  Still, when I try to do for 2 days what she does for most of the other 363 each year, I am humbled.

The saying goes that to understand someone, one ought to “walk a mile in their shoes.”

I walk less than a mile and realize how much respect my wife deserves for all that she does daily.

But this got me thinking about all the other people whose lives and situations I presume to understand.  I haven’t walked a mile in their shoes either.

Am I willing?  Would it take a whole mile?

 

Leave a Reply

