I cannot even imagine.

restareashade 2On our way home from a vacation week in Galveston, we stopped at a Chick-fil-a.  Unsure what the muzak was that I was hearing in the background, I listened more closely than is probably ever intended by the purveyors of such.

It was “I Can Only Imagine,” the slowed down, instrumental version.  Felt odd to hear this song muzakked (is that a verb? Did I spell it right?)

I can only imagine.

Later today, I got stuck on “I cannot begin to imagine.”

This second phrase is what I’ve been thinking since hearing of the overnight death of a 3 year old grandson of one of my parish.

Yes, I hugged my own kids more often and more tightly the rest of today.  I likely will again tomorrow as well.

I cannot imagine.

Yet, as people who follow a God who refuses to be distant, even when we don’t understand, we know that we must move closer rather than further away in such times.

Some of the best, and most regularly used pastoral advice I received in seminary was this: “If you don’t know what to say, don’t force words; just be present.”

I cannot imagine. I don’t have words that work.  I will be turning to the Psalms deeply the next couple of days.  The Psalms are full of words and phrases and images that come along side us as we feel whatever we feel as humans.

Please hold this family in prayer.  Even if you cannot put words into the prayers, please pray.

One thought on “I cannot even imagine.

Leave a Reply

