Confirmation Bias

I just read another blog post about an atheist attempting to disprove Christianity and becoming converted in the process.

landing-pages-confirmation-bias-lessonOnce upon a time I was impressed by such stories.  No; more than impressed, I was convinced this kind of thing was the linchpin to converting the rest of the world to the truth of Christianity.

Because I was interpreting such an event from the perspective of a Christian, I now believe it is fair to say that I was suffering from confirmation bias. Evidence that agrees with me or supports my side in an argument gets extra weight in my thinking.

I mean, lets face it: does it even make news that a Christian walks away from the faith?  Do you know someone who once considered him or herself a christian but now claims to be an atheist?

Christians: Please join me in being excited for any who come to the faith, no matter the place from whence they’ve come, or the difficulty of the journey of following Jesus along side us.  But lets get rid of the scoreboard we are prone to keep in our minds that values our ‘wins’ with more points than our ‘losses.’

Leave a Reply

