The point of limits

Most of my daily commute is a single road that varies between 45 and 50 miles per hour.speedlimit1

The other day, both going to work and coming home, traffic was thick but not heavy. It was also moving more slowly than usual.

Apparently it was “Drive 5 MPH under the limit day” and no one had told me.

As I am, during this season of Lent, always on the lookout for a blog topic, I considered being left out of such a national event as “Drive 5 MPH under the limit Day.”

Now: I admit I have issues with driving and traffic.  During Lent a few years ago, my main focus was to improve my attitude while driving.  I’ve come a long way.

I’ve come so far that this year, on National “Drive 5 MPH under the limit Day”  I didn’t get mad.

I didn’t get even.

I realized that the posted speed limit is not a requirement.  One is not required to drive 50, for example, just because the speed limit is 50.

In that case, 50 is the upper limit.  Hence the word, “limit.”

It just so happens that I am almost always in enough hurry to get to wherever I am going next that I push the limit.

Yes, I admit right here on the internet that I regularly drive a little above the speed limit.

Some people think limits are made to be pushed.  I tend to be one of those people.

How about you?

Published by Steve Heyduck

I am a United Methodist pastor, currently appointed as Pastor of OvillaUnited Methodist Church in Ovilla, Texas. I am also the husband of Rachel and father of 3 - Robbie, Eliza, and Liam. I am an ardent nonconstantian and a postmodern Christian. (I am also happy to talk with you about what these things mean to me)

One thought on “The point of limits

  1. quit stressing yourself out by setting yourself up for it when others don’t believe in pushing the speed limit. They are actually following the speed limit law, which is posted at that particular place for a reason… if you are in such a hurry, start earlier.

Leave a comment